RSS Feed

Watching him grow

Sunday morning I woke up to the sounds of little man talking in his room, sounded more like he was singing to me, but a smile came across my face when I heard the word “DADDA!” I crawled out of bed and walked quietly into Patrick’s room. There he was standing in his crib, looking like he was about to jump over the railing. I couldn’t believe that after only ten short months in this world he had figured out how to get out of his velcro swaddle blanket  (which he’s been wrapped up in every night since we brought him home from the hospital) and stand up in his crib….. Just 30 min. later I walked into the living room just in time to see him pick up the remote, point it at the TV and turn the channel to cartoons (I kid you not!) He looked over at me, beaming cheek to cheek.

And it seems just his week he has grown from a baby to a toddler. Wednesday at the museum a dad came up to me after watching Patrick in the sensational babies class and asked “how old is your son?” Oh, ten months. “10 MONTHS!! He acts like he’s two!”

I watch him figure out how each one of his toys works, what button you need to push to see the balls fly in the air, where to put the ball back and repeat the process. He is getting into everything, literally everything. He is now fascinated by the toilet, he climbs up against the tub when I shower. Heads for the door when he hears the words “bye bye!” He watches my lips move when I speak to him and tries to do the same.

I just can’t wrap my fingers around how much he’s learning and growing in such a short period of time. And how much more he will learn in the months and years to come……

Leave a Reply

