RSS Feed

Finding a balance….

Posted on

I had one of those mornings……

Woke up still feeling like I could sleep for 12 more hours. Baby teething, runny nose that doesn’t like to be touched. Diaper rash that hasn’t yet gone away. (did I mention that little man is now on the move) Laundry to fold. Living room needing to be picked up. Floor needs a good sweep. Photos that need to be edited. School order forms need to be written up and over to the school by tomorrow. Fund raiser shoot that is tomorrow night and I still don’t have my product ready to go. Oh, and I picked up a virus this morning and now I have very inappropriate sites popping out at me!

Did I mention that I’m trying to run a business and be a full-time mom.My head is screaming and my eyes are watering. How do I find a balance without losing my mind. Without losing ME.

I know I’m not alone when it comes to being a mom and having a career, but when I’m working I feel guilty not playing with Patrick and when I’m playing with Patrick I feel like I should be improving my business that’s only a meer year and a half and only slowly making progress. It feels like a vicious cycle. So I take a DEEP breath, compose myself and start from the top….

I LOVE that I get to be apart of my son’s life, that I do get to have both, don’t get me wrong. It’s just been one of those mornings…..

So I put off work until this afternoon and pray that Patrick takes a nap (which he is as we speak, thank you monkey) and hop in the car to one of my favorite coffee joints in Bozeman (Daily Coffee) Β and take a step back and realize how really lucky I am.

P.S. If anyone has any tips on finding that balance feel free to let me know πŸ™‚

2 responses »

  1. i wish i had tips for you! (in all honesty, i was hoping you had some for ME!) πŸ™‚ i think the true balance is just accepting that that’s how it’s going to be, prioritizing what’s important, embracing the coffee pot, and the fact that you may never get to sleep more than 6 hours again :0) (really uplifting aren’t i?!) and this sounds dumb, but when i get REALLY out of control, i have to actually tell myself, “to do the best i can do, at what i’m doing RIGHT NOW.” πŸ™‚ good luck mama! share your secrets as you unearth your own!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Stace, I appreciate the encouraging words πŸ™‚ No, really it’s always good to remember that you’re not alone! And to take one day at a time. Well maybe one hour at a time… And I guess I have the advantage you don’t right now…. Enjoying that glass of wine or beer at the end of a long day πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

